PML-N wins NA-63, PP-232 by-elections



BUREWALA/JHELUM (Dunya News) – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidates Matloob Mehdi and Yousaf Kaselia won the by-elections held in National Assembly constituency NA-63 and Punjab Assembly constituency PP-232 respectively, Dunya News reported.

According to unofficial results, PML-N candidate Ch Muhammad Yousuf Kasailia won the Burewala PP-232 by-election with a margin of 1056 votes.

According to details, PML-N candidate Yousuf Kaselia defeated Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ayesha Nazir Jatt in a close contest. Yousuf Kasailia secured 51,323 votes while Ayesha Nazir Jatt bagged 50,267 votes to stay runner-up.

The PML-N also won the by-election in National Assembly constituency NA-63 Jhelum-II. PML-N candidate Matloob Mehdi beat PTI candidate Fawad Chaudhry with a margin of 8077 votes.

According to unofficial results, PML-N candidate Matloob Mehdi bagged 82,896 votes while the PTI candidate Fawad Chaudhry got 74,819 votes and remained runners-up. Pakistan People’s Party candidate could get only 4907 votes.

Commenting after the announcement of unofficial results, Minister for Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage Senator Pervaiz Rashid said that the voters in today’s by-elections had done the accountability of those who took out ‘ehtisab rallies.’

He said that the people of Pakistan support Nawaz Sharif’s agenda of progress and development and expressed no confidence in those who created anarchy on the streets.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Maryam Nawaz Sharif on Wednesday celebrated the party candidate’s victory in PP-232 by-election.

In her tweet, Maryam Nawaz Sharif celebrated the victory reiterating the popular party slogan ‘Dekho Dekho Kaun Aaya’. PML-N candidate Yousuf Kaselia won the Burewala by-election by 1056 votes while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ayesha Nazir Jatt remained runner up according to unofficial results.